Lectures in honor of the prominent Russian microbiologist Sergei N. Winogradsky were established on October 27, 2009 by the Decree No. 186 of the Bureau of the Department of Biological Sciences of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

The 1st S.N. Winogradsky Lecture (October, 2011)
G.A. Zavarzin, Academician

The 2nd S.N. Winogradsky Lecture (April, 2013)
M.V. Ivanov, Academician

The 3d S.N. Winogradsky Lecture (April, 2014)
A.V. Pinevich, Professor, Doctor of Biology

The 4th S.N. Winogradsky Lecture (April, 2015)
A.N. Nozhevnikova, Doctor of Biology

The 5th S.N. Winogradsky Lecture (April, 2016)
E.V. Lebedeva, PhD

The 6th S.N. Winogradsky Lecture (May, 2017)
D.Yu. Sorokin, Doctor of Biology

The 7th S.N. Winogradsky Lecture (April, 2018)
D.A. Los’, Doctor of Biology, Professor

The 8th S.N. Winogradsky Lecture (2019)
S.Yu Schegolev, Doctor of Chemistry, Professor

The 9th S.N. Winogradsky Lecture (2021)
S.P Sineokiy, Doctor of Biology, Professor

The 10th S.N. Winogradsky Lecture (2022)
to the 150th anniversary of the birth of academician B.L. Isachenko
– N.V. Pimenov, Doctor of Biology. “Microbiological studies of the Arctic seas at the Winogradsky Institute of Microbiology of Federal Research Center of Biotechnology RAS: from the works of B.L. Isachenko to the present day”
– D.G. Zavarzina, PhD. “In the footsteps of the great-grandfather: a biography of Boris Lavrentievich Isachenko”
– O.S. Samylina, PhD. “Kulunda Expedition of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR 1931-1933 and its microbiological heritage”

The 11th S.N. Winogradsky Lecture (2023)
S.N. Dedysh, Doctor of Biology


S.N. Winogradsky award is a science prize of the Russian Academy of Sciences. It is awarded by the Department of Physicochemical Biology of the Russian Academy of Sciences for outstanding scientific achievements in the field of general microbiology. The award is named in honor of the eminent Russian biologist- Academician Sergei N. Winogradsky, the founder of ecology of microorganisms and soil microbiology.

Sergei Kuznetsov (1970) – for the monograph “The microflora of lakes and its geochemical activity”, 1970 edition.
Georgy Zavarzin (1973) – for the monograph “Lithotrophic microorganisms”
Eugeny Mishustin (1977) – for the monograph ” Association of soil microorganisms”, as well as for the research of nitrogen-fixing microorganisms that extend the provisions of the monograph
Elena Kondratieva (1980) – on the set of research papers on the topic “Phototrophic bacteria”
Lev Kalakutsky (1983) – for a series of works “Adaptation of actinomycetes to the environment and evolution”
Mikhail Ivanov (1985) – for a series of works “Distribution and geochemical activity of bacteria in ocean sediments”
Dmitry Zvyagintsev (1989) – for a series of works “Principles of structure and functioning of the soil microorganism complex”
Grigory Karavaiko (1992) – for a series of basic and applied research on the transformation of minerals by microorganisms.
Yuri Sorokin (1997) – for a series of works “The role of microorganisms and protozoa in aquatic ecosystems”
Vladimir Gorlenko (2000) – for a series of studies of biodiversity of prokaryotic microorganisms.
Valery Galchenko (2003) – for the monograph “Methanotrophic bacteria”
Boris Byzov (2006) – for a series of works “Zoo-microbial interactions in soil”
Yuri Trotsenko (2009) – for the series of works “Extremophilic aerobic methylotrophic bacteria”
Elizaveta Bonch-Osmolovskaya (2012) ‒ for the cycle of works “Diversity of thermophilic prokaryotes”
Alexander Pinevich (2015) – for a series of works on the study of biodiversity, taxonomy and physiology of cyanobacteria
Dmitry Sorokin (2018) – for the series of works “Functional microbiology of hypersaline chloride and soda lakes”
Svetlana Dedysh (2021) – for the cycle of works “Microorganisms of the northern swamp ecosystems”